5 cool caves that are recognized as world heritage

The cave has become part of the history of the world that stores the history of human civilization. The cave was also functioned as a place to live by humans in ancient times, which could protect them from the weather outside the harsh cave and the attack of wild animals.

Here are 5 cool caves that are recognized as World Heritage, as quoted from the official website of UNESCO. Let's look together!

1. Mogao Cave, China

Gua Warisan Dunia

Mogao Cave or also known as Mogao Grottoes, is a cave complex located in Dunhuang, Gansu Province, China. Locals usually call it the Cave of the Thousand Buddhas. That is because this cave complex has formed a system that includes 492 Buddhist temples.

Mogao Cave was officially recognized as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1987. It was first built in 366 BC and is the greatest masterpiece of Buddhist art.

The four hundred and ninety-two caves which are currently preserved are now home to a mural of around 45,000 square meters and more than 2,000 painted statues. As proof of the evolution of Buddhist art in the northwestern region of China, Mogao Cave is considered to have unmatched historical value.

2. Cave of Lascaux, France

Gua Warisan Dunia

The Lascaux Cave is a cave complex located in southwestern France, famous for its Paleolithic paintings. This cave is filled with paintings that are estimated to have been 17,300 years old.

Unfortunately, this cave has been banned to the public since 1963, because the existence of humans in this cave is considered to potentially damage the sustainability of the cave. One of the security guards at that place usually only goes into the cave once a week and only for a few minutes. In 1979, the Lascaux Cave was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

3. Skocjan Cave, Slovenia

Gua Warisan Dunia

Skocjan Cave is a remarkable limestone cave system with a depth of more than 200 meters. This site also has many waterfalls and one of the largest basements ever known in the world.

The site, located in the Kras region (literally meaning Karst), is one of the most famous cave systems in the world for the study of karst phenomena. Because this site has many outstanding features, Skocjan Cave was later included in the UNESCO World Heritage Site list for the category nature and culture in 1986.

International chemists also recognize how important this cave is as one of the earth's treasures that needs to be preserved.

4. Ajanta Cave, India

Gua Warisan Dunia

This historic site is located in the State of Maharashtra, Aurangabad District, Soyagon Taluka, Lenapur Village, India. Ajanta is known as the first Buddhist cave monument which was built in Ajanta from 1 to 2 BC.

The paintings and statues of Ajanta are also considered to be masterpieces of Buddhist religious art. In addition, there are about 30 Buddhist cave monuments that are aged between 2 BC to about 480 or 650 AD

This cave is one of the most protected sites in India and was later recognized as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1983. This magnificent cave also contains carvings depicting the life of the Buddha, as well as carvings and statues which are considered to be the beginnings of classical Indian art.

5. Aggtelek Karst Cave and Slovak Karst, Slovakia

Gua Warisan Dunia
Aggtelek Karst Cave and Slovak Karst are recognized as World Heritage Sites by UNESCO since 1995. This historic site is located in the Districts of Roznava and Spisska Nova Ves, Kosice Region, Slovakia.

This system consists of 712 caves spread over an area of 138,000 hectares along the border of Hungary and Slovakia. Experts consider the existence of this cave is very important because it allows them to study geological history for tens of millions of years.

In addition, the karst process in this cave has produced an important diversity of structures and habitats from a biological, geological and paleontological perspective.

Source: Merdeka.com

0 Response to "5 cool caves that are recognized as world heritage"

Post a Comment

Iklan Atas Artikel

Iklan Tengah Artikel 1

Iklan Tengah Artikel 2

Iklan Bawah Artikel